Why Being An Early Bird Makes Sense

From a Deen (religiously) and Dunya (worldly) standpoint

I mentioned in my previous post that the biggest reason for me wanting to be awake for the early morning hours is because of the Dua the Prophet (pbuh) had made for his Ummah about the early hours -

The Prophet (ﷺ) said:

“O Allah, bless my nation in their early mornings (i.e., what they do early in the morning).”

Choosing to become an early bird

I’d heard of this Hadith many years ago. And it was my main reason for becoming an early bird.

I used to battle between being a night owl and striving to be an early bird. The late night hours were the perfect time for those deep conversations, tears and hearty laughs. And as the world quietens down, the silence of the night was the perfect time for thoughts to become alive and words to just flow out onto paper.

But learning about this Hadith is what gave me the motivation to choose my early mornings instead of the late nights.

My main focus during the mornings were my Hifdh and Islamic reading. I’d also use a bit of my time then to journal or maybe study for exams. But this was rarely since I wanted to make sure I was using this time for just acts of worship. As a result, I’d usually end up back into bed after doing these things and wake up a few hours later just in time for work or classes.

A new revelation

But recently I came across the second half of the narration which talks about the narrator, Sakhr Al Ghamidhi, and how he began using these early hours as a result of the Prophet (pbuh)’s dua -

‘He (Sakhr) was a man engaged in trade, and he used to send his goods out at the beginning of the day, and his wealth grew and increased.’

I found it really interesting how he wasn’t just using these early hours for his acts of worship, but for his career too — his daily affairs. And, as a result, how there was a beautiful barakah in his business.

Using the mornings to their fullest

It made me want to also use my morning hours to focus on one project outside my Hifdh and Islamic reading.

Obviously I didn’t want to reduce my time with the Quran or my Islamic reading. Because imagine the barakah we get in our relationship with Allah as a result of spending time with the Quran and learning about our Deen in these hours.

I definitely did not want to reduce that.

But it gave me an added layer of motivation not to jump back into bed after Fajr and my Quran/reading session. It gave me the motivation to jump right into all the other projects I have in mind, with excitement to see the barakah flow through it all.

If you reached till the end of this reflection, thank you my friend. I appreciate it!

I hope we get to meet each other in my next reflection too. Until then, if you have any thoughts about what you’ve just read let me know (in the comments or any other way). I’d love to start a conversation!

And if you’d like to have my reflections reach you directly, consider subscribing with your email below.

Until next time,

Thasneema 🌻